EternaLights and 26K mcd LED's

TRC

Newly Enlightened
EternaLights and 26K mcd LED\'s

I a BIG fan of EternaLights, and the idea of adding a couple of 26,000 mcd LED to my EternaLights has great appeal to me.

But I read that the 26K mcd LED don't hold up well if driven over 30ma.

So I opened one of my lithium powered EternaLights, to measure the current at the LED.

I MUST not know what I'm doing. I have a very cheap DMM, and I set it to the 200ma range. Touching the two contacts on one of the LEDs caused the LED to go out, while I was taking the reading.

But what REALLY confused me was getting a reading of 110ma!

I'm assuming that can't be right.

So, does anyone know, or could measure for me, how much current the EternaLight runs it's 4 LED's on; using L-91 lithium batteries?

If the current to the LED's is over 30ma, as I tend to suspect, would Nichia NSPW500CS LED's be a better choice?

I'm completely new to modding flashlights, and I don't want to let the magic smoke out of any of my beloved EternaLights, so any help and advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Last but certainly not least, what kind of solder should be used, assuming I get as far as cutting out two of the original LED's from one or more of my EternaLights? I know 'standard' electrical solder doesn't stick to aluminum; I'm assuming there's a special kind that works on aluminum, and hopefully is also low temp, to cut down on the chance of heat travelling down the anode and cathode, and damaging, or even melting the plastic housing. If you have a P/N from Rat Shack, I'd appreciate it; or a guideline in what to look for.

Many thanks for your help with this!!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/help.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bowdown.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon23.gif

asdalton

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: EternaLights and 26K mcd LED\'s