Using NiMH batteries vs. Alkalines

pradeep1

Enlightened
I am new to flasholicism and this is my first post here. I've searched the forum, but no definite answer. I purchased a Streamlight Propolymer 4AA Luxeon flashlight and was wondering if I can use high capacity NiMH batteries that I use for my digital camera in it. Or would this adversely affect the flashlight in any way. Streamlight says to use alkalines.

Thank you,

Pradeep

jtr1962

Flashaholic
If anything NiMH will last longer in that application as far as run time goes. Alkalines do very poorly under any kind of load exceeding a few hundred mA. The only time you might want to use alkalines is if you plan to use this as a standby light, meaning that you want it ready for emergencies if it's been sitting for six months or a year. If so, the self-discharge of NiMH would make them unsatisfactory. As a very general rule of thumb, if you find yourself buying a new set of batteries every three months or less then consider using rechargeables. NiMH usually retain a good portion of their capacity over that time period. The shorter the time between battery changes, the more you save by using rechargeables.

If you're very good at remembering to charge all your batteries at least every few months, as I am, then you can put rechargeables in everything without worrying about self-discharge. I've had alkalines leak in a bad way more often than I care for. I've basically stopped using them except for clocks for that reason. It's less inconvenient to remember to charge ~150 cells every few months than it is to clean out battery acid from a leaking alkaline.

pradeep1

Enlightened