Does more $$$ always mean more light???

PoliceScannerMan

Flashaholic
First I want to say, thanks for my welcome.

I am liking my A2, loving it. I'm interested in lights that are bright (newbie here= don't know the Flashaholic lingo).

Now money really isnt a problem, but I guess this is my question:

Generally speaking, when the price of an light goes up, does the output of the light go up also?

Sorry for the open ended question, I'm a newbie in distress trying to learn here!!!

Thanks for your input,
PSM

Beamhead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink2.gif

As to your question...in a word no, not always. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

What you get for the money can be better quality, durability, options.....
HTH

PoliceScannerMan

Flashaholic
Thats what I figured, better quality beam, more rugged case.

I learned one thing real quick, more $$$, does not mean better battery life!!! (A2)

thesurefire

Flashlight Enthusiast
Usally yes, but sometimes a really small light that puts out say 60 lumens (you A2 is about 50 lumens on the ican setting) is very exspensive because well, its really small. In the other direction, spotlights put out lots of light, but are very big, and very cheap.

JasonC8301

Flashlight Enthusiast
Surefire M6, with a $392 MSRP, it is one heck of a bright light, like having the power of the sun in a flashlight smaller than one of those 2D Everready ones. I'd personally prefer an M6 mounted on my M16 rather than a big clunky spotlight.

The USL (modded Mag 2D) runs for $350-$450 and is really bright, but after more search into it, just something that I can not have/well no real use for. It is bright, think I read 2500 lumen somewhere (while my M6 with HOLA has 500 lumens) it is limited by run time of 8-10 minutes I believe.