Not a cheap thrill

wmpwi

Enlightened
This new flashlight fixation of mine has over heated my PayPal account. I'm down for a Groovy, marked for a Gatling Light, and just ordered a entry level Raw. It's a good thing I work for a living.

BTW - I've been getting the hard sell on verifying my PP account which means they want to tap my checking account rather than my credit card. If and when that happens, is that when they start charging me per transaction and if so how much?

UncleFester

Flashaholic*,
wmpwi
I got the hard sell on that too. There is a 2K$ permanent spending limit on a Cred Card funded account. There's no way to reset it either. Once you reach 2K, it's done. I am reluctant to give PayPal or a potential seller (or anyone else for that matter) a direct hose into my bank account.
What they don't make really clear is that you can set up a PayPal Buyer Credit account with them. It can be used to fund transactions on your existing account and there is no limit. You have to fish around on their website to find it.
Just thought you might want to know.

Trashman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Buyers don't get charged for any transactions. I think they want the checking account because the credit card companies can always do a charge back, and then they lose. The checking account is supposed to be the same as cash. You'll notice a lot of sellers ask for an addition 3 or 4 percent if you're paying by credit card, which leads one to believe sellers are charged for cash (checking account) transactions, although, that's somewhat unimagineable.

James S

Flashlight Enthusiast
I opened a separate free checking account to link my paypal account to. I know that millions of people do it without any trouble (yet /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif ) but like you i dont trust to the system.