Maglite 6D mod?

Delghi

Enlightened
Hello everyone

I am new to this shining world of flashlights I would like to mod my Maglite 6D but I need your suggestions on wich type and where I can buy

Bulb, reflector, batteries and other things you think I might need

I would like to make a recharchable battery pack that would last for more about 90 minutes and 800/1000 lumens output

Thanks a lot
David

Timson

Enlightened
David,

Sounds like a tall order to me......800/1000Lumens for 90mins /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ooo.gif

For this kind of output - the flashlight will generate a significant amount of heat. so you'll nee to modify the internals some.....

These are the standard mods for hi power mag mods and should do just fine in your set-up.....

1) UCL/Borofloat glass lense (See banner ads for Flashlight lense Co)

2) Fivemega/Modamag light orange peel textured aluminium reflector (Look in group buy section)

3) KIU's Bi Pin mag switch kit (Group buy section)

This should take care of the heat issues
Now what lamp and batteries to use......

You want rechargeable....So we're looking at NiCd / NiMh
Don't know much about Lithium cells so I'll steer clear of those.

You could then simply bung in 6 x 11000mah NiMh D cells (Try e-bay for good deals)

Then fit a WA1274 Bi-Pin lamp - This is going to give you around 550 - 600 Lumens for about 3.5 hours

Alternatively you could fit 2 X 4Ah magcharger battery sticks (Very difficult to source) for 12v
and fit a WA1154 bi-pin lamp

This should give you your 800 - 1000 lumens - but only for 60 - 70 mins runtime.

Easier to get hold of would be standard Magcharger battery sticks - but these are only 2.4Ah so would only give you about 30 mins runtime.

I'm sure the guru's on this site will be able to come up with all sorts of weird and wonderful suggestions........How deep are your pockets - Hold onto your wallet! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Tim

Delghi

Enlightened
Thanks Tim for your fast help