Decent throw in an LED lamp?

inthelight

Newly Enlightened
I'm very new to the idea of LED flashlights. Im looking for a flashlight that will give me very long throw.

So far, the Elektrolumens Blaster Series looks good. Any other suggestions?

I'd like to use common batteries (AA, C, D) not expensive ones.

Big_Ed

Flashlight Enthusiast
One LED light that I have that has great throw is a MagLite 3D modded with a Lux III LED. It was made by CPF member 3rd_shift. I'm not sure if he is still selling them, but if you are lucky enough to get one, you won't be disappointed.

I'm sure there are others out there, but it's the best LED thrower I have.

inthelight

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the suggestion, that Propolymer looks alright. But I'm really looking towards an aluminum body, something like a maglite.

Sway

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
inthelight said:
Thanks for the suggestion, that Propolymer looks alright. But I'm really looking towards an aluminum body, something like a maglite.

[/ QUOTE ]

You can modify a Mag by adding a heat sink "Hot Lips or O-sink" and direct driving a LuxIII this makes a good throw light and will help getting your feet wet at modding these lights /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Later
Kelly

joema

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
inthelight said:
that Propolymer looks alright. But I'm really looking towards an aluminum body, something like a maglite.

[/ QUOTE ]
The Propoly Lux 4AA or 3C are great lights with excellent throw for that class. The plastic body is very tough.

However if you want even more throw in an aluminum-body LED light, the LEDBeam 3C Lux III has superb throw and is inexpensive:

http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/ledbeam_3c.htm

Solstice

Flashlight Enthusiast
My suggestion is the Aurora 2AA seen here:
http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/aurora_alj-012aa.htm