Thoughts on a LuxIII in LB Micra

shaman

Newly Enlightened
Hello all,

I recently purchased a Longbow Micra along with a few other flashlights (a couple of Q3, and a MMM) and I am completely happy with all of them. Recently I have been in a bit of a modding mood and wanted to see how a Lux III would be in the Micra. I am pondering the notion of purchasing ...

A UX1L emitter, a Wiz2 937 board, and of course the McCapsule/eCan.

I have a couple of questions...

1) Does the above look like a good solution or is there anything wrong? I am not an electrical engineer so there is no telling what stuff I may have wrong.

2) What kind of Lux/Lumens can I expect? How much brighter will this be than the stock LuxI?

3) Is there anything that I have not taken into consideration (i.e. Heat, Runtime, Common Sense :)?

If anyone should need the current specs of my LB Micra. It has the stock LuxI with a 17mm IMS Reflector and a UCL lens.
This is my first post for help, and I appreciate any/all information and everyones time.

Thanks,

Shaman

chrisse242

Enlightened
1: nothing wrong, except a wiz2/750 may be bright enough. that's what I use and it's great.
2: No clue about lumens, but it will be much brighter
3: The light will become hot, but not hot enough to worry about it.

Adjusting the so17xa to a McCapsule can be a pain, but it works. Be sure to remember that the wiz2 is not perfect for primary cells.

Chrisse

shaman

Newly Enlightened
Hi Chrisse,

Thanks for the reply. I guess I may have overestimated the current requirements for the UX1L (937 rather than the 750). Over the night I began to second think the 'X1' rating because of the yellowish tint. I am wondering if I should just put a TW0H or TY0J in instead... of course I would probably need the 750 or lower then.