Microfire F6L need opinion...please

vortechs

Enlightened
I just got a MicroFire F6L. I'll post my opinion later. Let me know if you have any specific questions.

vortechs

Enlightened
Sorry, I've been fairly busy and have been putting off writing a detailed post. I also don't have a lot of experience with Lux III's so I just have to compare it with the ones I do have. Please keep in mind that I just joined CPF in Feburary, so I'm still getting used to the terminology.

Here are some quick notes. The construction is good. The reflector is 'bumpy' (I'm not sure if stippled or orange peel is the correct term), which gives the beam a smoother transition from the hotspot to the spillbeam with no artifacts. The spillbeam is brighter and wider than most I've seen so it is nice for indoor work. I'm not good at identifying Luxeon tints yet, but it seems white with perhaps a tinge of green (definitely not purple or blue). I have only tried it with 2 x CR123 primaries so far, since I don't have any RCR123 LiIon's yet, but the tube looks plenty wide enough (the CR123's have at least 1mm of extra room). It isn't as bright as a '7w Golston' (AXShop "3.6V x 2" version, running on primaries) or a JIL CR2 Intelli (overdriven with an RCR2) but those aren't really fair comparisons since those are overdriven 3w LED's. The F6L seems to be a bit brighter than the cheap AXShop 3W 2xAA lights I have.

Hope that helps for now.

vortechs

Enlightened