Coast V2 (triplex LED).. is it any good?

phil_vr

Newly Enlightened
Hi..

I have in my collection so far a Mini-Maglite(Krypton), a Garrity Aluminum 2AA (Xenon), and a Garrity Aluminum Nichia LED 3AAA. So far I use these all for household tasks and garage works. I know that they are the plainest mainstream flashlights but I am new to this hobbie and my needs are not that extreme. I recently saw at Radioshack the Coast V2 Triplex LED, which uses 3 N batteries and it is a bit smaller than my minimag. That is good for me since I love flashlights of that size, but for 20$ worth I need to know if it is any good, or it comes pretty much to the level of the Garrity LED I own. :shrug:
I saw that it has a good runtime and this is a great plus to me since I intend to carry it on hiking and in general wherever power supplies is not the easiest to find. My intention to have a flashlight as an all around without needing a specific for each task is also a plus. And I know that surefire's and streamlights are superb, but right now my budget doesnt allow me such a quantum leap. :broke:
I saw the reviews on the flashlightreviews.com but I couldnt find a review for that flashlight.

Any help would be highly appreciated. Also if someone has a better proposal, please let me know the address where I can order it. Thanks in advance..

Philip V.
NY

P.S. Does the V2 has any good output so I can brag a bit to my father in law who is sickly in love with 3D and 4D Maglite's? :huh2:

not2bright

Enlightened
phil_vr,

I believe this light has 3 5mm LEDs I found a site that said "wide beam" and for "indoor use". I do NOT believe this light will come close to the output of a Mag. And for throw (distance) the Mag would far, far, far better. The only advantage to the Triplex would be the color of the light output, and runtime.

Here is the manufacturer site:

http://www.coastcutlery.com/?v=&pl=141&p=429.