Any alternative bulbs for A2?

alvdll

Newly Enlightened
Hi, can any experts tell me is there an alternative bulb for the SF A2? I have been using mine for a year without any bulb change. But recently, I noticed there is some blackie stuff inside the wall of the bulb envelope, it is a sign of an over-used bulb? Sorry for this stupid question as you can see from my post count, I am a newbie. A2 is my very first SF, how long does an A2 bulb suppose to last? What is the sign of bulb change for SF lights?

I find that SF bulbs are a bit expensive,is there any after market A2 bulb that I can order from a web store? :thanks:

Last edited:

270winchester

Flashlight Enthusiast
The black stuff is normal after use, I have had them in all my MA02 bulbs(I had 4 so far). The bulb will run for a good while, my first bulb is actually still working fine after 20 sets of batteries. But the black residue somehow makes my lgiht look yellow(that or maybe I just got spoiled my overdriven Halogen bulbs and LEDs).

And for your question, no, the MA02 is the only bulb for the A2.

KevinL

Flashlight Enthusiast
A year without a bulb change is pretty good already, especially since incandescents don't last forever. Not a wise idea to substitute anything else for the MA02 lamp, I agree it's expensive but that's the price of buying SF - the consumables count against ya too.

If you're really concerned about bulb changes you might want to switch to a LED based model, that way you should never have to change the bulb again.

Size15's

Flashaholic
I've put 45+ battery sets through the first A2 I had.
The inside of the bulb did begin to yellow slightly which is normal after about 25+ battery sets. Comparing it side by side with another A2 with new lamp I can see no difference in light output.

My experience of the A2 is that the bulbs last a very long time.

Al

goldenlight

Enlightened