Surefire L1 and L2 owners.

WDR65

Enlightened
Those of you that own both. Which do you find more useful for most tasks. I mainly mean the new L1, but any thoughts on the old one too would be nice since I can still find them around here at certain dealers. Also how does the L1 on low compare to the A2 and those of you that have the E1L which one do you like better. I know the common response is buy both and I fully intend to do that eventually, but at the moment I'm a poor college student. I like the idea of the L1 and its two levels, but I realize its not incredibly bright. Any replies would be greatly appreciated as I try to figure out which is more important for me next.

John N

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have an (old style) SF L1 and really like it. In addition to it being part of my EDC (in conjunction with an E2e), it by far gets the most use of any of my lights.

That said, if I were buying a light today, I'd get an HDS EDC light instead of the L1. It does everything the L1 does and lots more for a similar price.

You have more options also, from AW's beamshaper lens, to the HDS mild diffuser to the stock reflector. You also can use a SF F04 or the HDS Strong Diffuser if you want a serious flood light.

-john

jar3ds

Flashlight Enthusiast
I don't have an L1 but I have an L2...

I have found this light to be more than usageful for almost everytask...

the few areas it falls short is in long range, and in really close up.

ANYTHING inbetween... and it simply owns... it cranks out so much of a spread of light... its great...

when reading a book or something.... the 15lumens is a lot... it reflects off of the pages a lot and is glarey... however... i'm going to go get those snap on SF beam filters... to run either red or blue through it... i bet that would really help cut down on the glare and reflection...