What's the ideal light for urban search and rescue?

glock35guy

Newly Enlightened
I am curious as to what you guys think here. THe mission is urban search and rescue. Could be a scenario where everything in the world is normal but your child / dog didnt come home from playing on time and its dark out. THe ideal light is going to have to be....

(1) Bright
(2) Good Runtime
(3) Durable
(4) Easy to haul over distances

LED's are interstesting because no worries about bulb breakage....Surefure M3 seems like a strong generalist thats light enough... m6 probably lacks the runtime and puts off too much heat to carry for a reasonable length of time (3 hours??) ... Gladius does a lot of things but for pure throw I dont think 80 lumens does it.

I would think you would want closer to 180-220 lumens.... I am a novice at this.

What do you think you would reach for?

:thanks: :thanks:

powernoodle

Flashlight Enthusiast
Despite all of the fancy, high-end lights out there, I might go for a basic Vector spotlight from Target or Wal-mart. Hugh amount of light, rechargable, and costs only $15 (I've got 'em on sale for under $10). I keep one in the car, and 2 in the house. Don't know about runtime, but at that price you can buy more than one so one is always ready to go. But also its an incan and not a LED, which may be a deal breaker for you.

best regards

Last edited:

cy

Flashaholic
I'd take these lights and other search & resque gear.

1. Surefire M6 with M6R pack + spare pack
2. Barbolight with 2+ hour, 200+ lumens + spare 3x C nmh
3. Surefire U2 with 4 spare 18650's
4. niterider storm HID headlamp with 4 hour burntime & spare pack.

greenLED

Flashaholic
a rechargeable battery pack for the SureFire M6 flashlight. There's a thread running right now for a second run of these. I believe "js" makes them, IIRC.

pizzaman

Enlightened
When I want serious light, I don't putz around with little torches.