im a newbie, help me choose a flashlight :D

ZippyDan

Newly Enlightened
i bet im the first!

my two most important concerns are, brightness and battery time (omg another first i bet! ill go on a rant here and wonder why flashlight makers dont agree on a standard set of ratings. ive found a lot of nice looking flashlights that lack the ratings necessary for me to compare them to other lights. lumens, lux, distance, but it seems never all at the same time)

my main uses for such a light are:

1. nighttime hiking camping
2. anytime i need a light in the dark
3. i was only recently made aware of the self defense uses for a very bright light, either against people or animals

i really like the idea of LEDs because of their battery time, but it seems im losing something in sheer light output. thus, when i saw the Streamlight Twintasks and the Surefire Aviator. the combination of LED and Xenon would seems like the perfect compromise

question here though, are there any variable output LED-only flashlights that can nearly rival a xenon bulb?

right now im looking for a light in the around $150 or less range. im leaning toward the Aviator because the general consensus seems you cant go wrong with a Surefire. but the Twintasks seems to offer more like... 10 LEDs vs. 3. but surely at 5 times the cost i must be missing something about the A2

im also debating between 3 different sizes too. im not sure if i want a small 3 inch light, a medium sized 6 inch light like the aviator, or a full size foot long + light.

i believe ive seen full size LED only lights that claim to put out 120 lumens, with options like that, why would i go with the aviator that only claims to do 50 (certainly im aware that lumens are not the only factor). edit: hmm, now i notice the surefire L2 with LEDs only that seems to provide 2 output levels, high at 100 lumens. how do i mentally compare this to the A2? is it just a matter of range?

in conclusion im looking for recommendations for