LED Lights vs Incandescent Lights

Hans

Enlightened
I'm sure this topic has come up before, but I couldn't any thread discussing it in detail in the archives. If this has been dealt with before I'd appreciate a link to the relevant thread.

I've seen quite a few posts here and elsewhere claiming that in some situations incandescent lights are "better" than LED lights, especially when there's some ambient light about. I don't fully understand why this is so, but it definitely agrees with my own observations. Incandescent lights almost always seem to show more detail than LED lights of comparable brightness, especially when there's a lot of scattered light about. LED lights really only seem to hold there own when it's really dark.

Why is this so? Is there any real explanation behind this phenomenon? Or is this just a subjective thing, like so many things?

Hans

Santelmo

Enlightened
Nice post Hans, another newbie here also wants to know?

Will there actually be LED innovations in the future where they would be at par with incands in this regard?

JanCPF

Enlightened
I think it's a matter of the color of the ambient light versus the color of the flashlight beam. If for instance the ambient light is from a cloudy afternoon sky, the scattered light will have a rather high color temperature (6000 K), and in this case an incandescent light with it's yellowish (3000 K) light will stand out more than an LED with it's 6000 K color temp. On the other hand, at sunset with a yellow/orange sun (2000 K) in the horizon, an LED will stand out more with it's considerably higher color temp.