What battery do use in your AAA?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sleepless

Newly Enlightened
I've been following the forums for a couple years now, but this is my time posting...so go easy on me:)

I just received my AAA-P today (#1750) and I'm curious what battery other owners are using? Lithium, alkaline, or recharegeables? Is one preferred over others?

Thanks
-Sleepless

Last edited:

zoomin

Newly Enlightened
Sleepless, I use the supplied alkaline with my aaa-p. The Duracells give great run times and illumination, and are not that expensive. I do not know if there are lithium aaa's, they would give better all around performance than the alkalines but are traditionally more expensive. I do not use rechargebles, they do have multiple amperage ratings that may provide a higher light output. But, the issue of over-driving the LED may be significant with the higher rated rechargebles;I am a novice, I leave the issue of over-driving the LED to the more experienced members of CPF. Hope this info helps you out some.

simbad

Enlightened
I use lithiums because of the noticeable difference in weight, especially if you carry it around your neck.

mridude

Newly Enlightened
As I remember from the Arc Flashlight websites FAQs page they discuss this. They suggest any "alchy" battery will due as the Arc AAA will just suck it dry. It appears that if weight, general longevity and especially performance in severe cold, like 30 to 40 degrees below zero kinda cold, they suggest lithium.........for a significant increase in price. I have the same AAA alchy battery in my two year old Arc AAA P.....works fine, it's the one that came with it too.

kubolaw

Enlightened
Lithium aaa for me also, mainly due to the significantly decreased weight (and secondarily for the performance improvements).

John

Big_Ed

Flashlight Enthusiast