Surefire Problem??? (Rings of Saturn)

Illumination

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm new to this flashaholicism - and boy do I have it bad. I recently bought a Surefire L4 and L1. The L4 is overkill for many situations (but boy do I love it's clean broad beam). I was a bit disappointed with the L1. Not for its power, which is weak compared to the L4 and other lights I have (but still sufficient for many applications), but because it seems to project the "seven rings of Saturn" everywhere I shine it. (Are these called artifacts?) I like the bright center spot (corona?), but I get all of these distracting rings.

Is this normal? I expect something like this from a cheap light, but not from a $100+ light. I have other $30 lights that project a much cleaner beam. Is this normal? Or did I get a defective unit?

I'd attach a beamshot but for some reason I'm not allowed to post attachments.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

Mags

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is the latest version with TIR optic correct? If so, yes the rings are normal. They are usually found in most optics. I am familiar with them and I personally dont find them distracting. Is it really that bad though?

Also, to post a picture, get it hosted on a website, post the link, and write
after the link.

for example,

Flashlight Enthusiast
Its normal.

And yes, its distracting. I absolutely HATE the rings and colored bands produced by the KL1 and L1 optics. Fine for throw it is, but a terrible beam for short range use (inside a small room) my opinion says.

A nice alternative is the Bugout gear Lux III for you P, G, and C-Series Surefires.

If Bugout gear or someone else can make a Lux III reflector drop in the the E-Series, I be very happy.

TonkinWarrior

Enlightened
Illumination: Welcome! Good 1st post.

The new L1/KL1 is noted for its unique "throw"... as well as its rings. Are you using it INSIDE, or OUTSIDE?