A simple and cheap LuxIII bikehelmet lamp idea?

hawgorn

Newly Enlightened
OK, so I've been using a PT Aurora headlamp while bicycling to work in the morning (60min one way). It's ok, but I need occasionally more throw when there's no streelights around. I like headlamps because it lights exactly the area I'm looking at unlike mounted bike lights and it's easy to make myself visible to cars by just looking to that direction.

I had been thinking of getting PT EOS, but they seem to be ridiculously priced in Europe or out of stock where cheaper. So I thought maybe I could make something; maybe not stylish, but cheap, easily found parts and not a lot machining needed. I have no experience with modding lights other than one direct driven 3D Mag with Hotlips, so I'd ge grateful for some feedback.

So to the point, the (very rough) idea I have, would this be workable or > dev/null?

The casing would be a cone shaped 1/2dl or 1dl steel measuring cup used in kitchen. The handle would be bent and somekind of attachment thingie rigged to clasp it to the helmet.

Light source would be LuxIII emitter or star. I can get locally LXHL-PW09 or LXHL-LW3C for a fairly reasonable price, specs given are Imax 1000mA and Vf typ. 3.70V. It's a K bin I guess?

As a reflector I'd use a camless D-Mag reflector or some other from some cheap C/D-cell light. Though the Mag reflector makes such tight hotspot I'm not sure it's usable.

I don't know if somekind of heatsink would be necessary? The outside operating temperature will be 0C +-15C, so fairly cool, and and the windchill would make it even cooler. The led would be attached to the bottom of the cup or if it needs to sit higher, on top on some washers or something which might also act as a heatsink.

To protect the led from the elements, a standard Mag lens epoxied/sillyconed inside the cup. Maybe Scotch-tape to diffuse the thight spot from Mag-reflector.