Ok motorcyclists...need your help one more time

LaserFreak

Enlightened
Ok...I found a local ad for a 1985 Nighthawk CB650 for sale for $199

Apparently was running last month, but now has a clang in the top end of the bike.

First off..me being a complete beginner as far as motorcycles go (used to have a scooter) would this bike be good for me to start out with? I know a lot of people have told me to get a 600 or more....

Secondly, is this bike worth $199? How much might I be looking at for repairs?

flashboy

Newly Enlightened
I had an '85 nighthawk 650. Bought it brand new as a leftover model in april of '86 for $2799. Fantastic bike and I rode the wheels off it for 6 years. But now you're talking about buying a 20 year old bike for a beginner and I would'nt recommend that because of all the problems that you might have with it. For $199 you just can't expect to get much more than a big bag of problems. That's my .02 anyway. For a beginner I would recommend spending between 1000 and 2000 and getting a decent later model say less than 10 years old bike.

LaserFreak

Enlightened
Problem is, I don't have $1000-$2000 on a newer bike. I've seen the pictures...it looks pretty clean..no visible scratches, the seat isn't torn...it's only got 30,000 miles on it too...that's kinda low mileage for a 20 year old bike, no?

LaserFreak

Enlightened
Incidentally, I'm doing a search on google for a replacement engine and not having much luck so far...is this a rare model or something?

snakebite

Flashlight Enthusiast
its real hard to tell what the noise is without hearing it.
you say a clang but it doesnt fit with much that goes wrong.maybe a timing chain tensioner?that makes a rattle or slapping sound.
loud knocks are bad though.
it might be a cheap start to get your feet wet and your hands greasy.
if you can use common hand tools you might fix it yourself.

Icebreak

Flashlight Enthusiast