Brightest small light for police work

jimmiceman

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys! I'm new to the forums. I work as a LEO and I currently use the SL stinger XPHT. It is a great light! The brightness and distance is awesome. The only problem is the size. I have a small waist and my duty belt is pretty packed. The length of the XTHP is alittle long and gets in the way of me sitting and takes up a good amount of space on my already packed rig. I am looking for something the size of the strion length and width. I would like something really bright and good quality seeing as my life or someone else's may depend on it. I searched but nothing came up too useful in my search any help ASAP would be great. I'm actually doing tactical shooting this Thursday with flashlight so the quicker the info the better. Thanks in advance for your opinions. Jimmy:thanks:

Lunal_Tic

Flashlight Enthusiast
Last edited:

joema

Flashlight Enthusiast
Since size is an issue, it's difficult to beat the Strion. It has lots of output at a small size plus is rechargeable. I think they're often use for duty lights.

Another small/bright option is the Surefire M2 with P61 high output lamp, but only has about 20 min runtime.

lexina

Enlightened
for maximum flexibility i would recommend the Surefire 6P.

with 2 non-rechargeable 123s, you can run a P60 (65 lumens) or P61 (120 lumens). with 2 rech. 123s, you can fit a P90 lamp - very bright 105 lumens with good throw. I get 35mins on 2 protected 750mAh protected cells.

you can also upgrade to a 9P at any time by getting the A19 1-cell extender.

CLHC

Flashaholic
As already mentioned throughout this forum, there are indeed many great flashlights out there. I don't own any of StreamLight's flashlights but if I had to buy one of them, the Strion peaks my interest.