Help... using 9.6v pack for a 6v headlamp

Diggler

Newly Enlightened
OK, be gentle... I am completely new at this. I was looking through some of my old stuff and found an old Everlast headlamp. Just a cheap one, but I remember it was always really bright. I used it for watching wildlife after dark.

Well, I saw what the lantern batteries now cost, and I have a lot of those 9.6v rechargeable packs that go in my kids' remote controlled toys and figured that those would be just the thing... I could use the lamp and rotate the batteries as needed, keeping the cost down. I took the end off of one of the chargers, adapted the headlamp wire to use the end, and 'voila', the battery snapped on.

I shined it for a few seconds in my basement and was impressed with the light output; I then went outside to see how far the beam would throw, and when I turned it on it flashed for a second then went dark. I took the bulb out, and I don't see where it is burned out but I assume that's what happened. It says on it "Norelco PR13, IE4".

So, I was wondering, is there a particular type of bulb I should get to replace the bulb to make it work? I need strong light output and pretty good battery life for this headlamp; several hours per battery.

Any ideas on how I can rig this into my ultimate headlamp?

Last edited:

modamag

Flashlight Enthusiast
Digger, Welcome to CPF!
"Why don't you stay for a while" :D

Let me guess the you got an 8cell 9.6V NiCd pack something in a size of 4"x2"x0.5" with capacity of < 1000mAh.

Normally, most ppls would recommend a Welch Allen 1185 bulb (aka WA1185) for the most light output. However, I don't think your batteries can handle this high output bulb. Besides I don't think you want something that last only for 15 minutes.

I recommend you try a WA1171, WA1306 they should last an hour, however these are bi-pin. Then you have to purchase a PR-bipin adapter, more $$$ wasted.