How to make a solar home ?

Amonra

Enlightened
Our government is about to double electricity bills soon due to the recent increase in fuel prices so i was wondering if solar power alone could be enough to power a home all year round ( or at least drastically reduce the electricity bill ). Malta is a sunny place practically all year round except for a couple of months when it is a bit gloomy.

I have no experience in large scale solar power so im going to need all the info, pros and cons i can get.

I do not keep track of the latest solar technology and i dont know if the technology has developed enough to make this a practical solution but anyways i would like to explore this in detail with the solar veterans here.

In Malta we do not have the option to sell electricity back to the grid so i guess a battery bank would be needed to store the produced electricity and used when needed and some kind of automatic switch that switches to and from the power grid when the batteries are empty/ready to use as i guess it would be prohibitively expensive to completely rely on solar power.

while browsing i have seen many types/chemistries of solar panels. what is the difference between all of these types, which would be the best 'bang for the buck' and how many of them are needed ?

In Malta we use 240V 50Hz electricity does that mean that im going to need 20x12V batteries or does the inverter boost the voltage as required ?

what kind of batteries suit this project best and how long would they last before needing replacement ?

from the little i have seen 3 main parts are required - the solar panels, the batteries and the inverter. is there anything else needed ?

i dont know the exact amount but we probably consume an avrage of about 800 Watts/hour but im sure we could bring that down to about 500 Watts/hour. what size of system would that require ?

and finally what will it cost ? ( and cheapest place to buy them )