MAG LED's - What's the deal with MAG Light?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analog Kid

Newly Enlightened
Ok, so I'm a newbie to this group, so I may have missed this. What is the deal with MAG Instruments? I mean, "back in the day", they WERE the flashlight to have. Cutting edge. Man, I remember when the Solitaire first came out! I could hardly wait to get my hands on one. I still carry a 6D in the car, and a Solitaire in my pocket at work, now with its black anodizing rubbed off. I think MAG was really the tops. But now, in the past several years, I don't see anything coming from them as far as R&D and new (LED?) products. It seems they would have more capital ($) than almost any other flashlight manufacturers, but still the same old stuff – not that I don't think their current / old stuff isn't nice. Sure Fire, ORB, etc., etc., are much more advanced. Is it a patent thing? With MAG's manufacturing abilities, you'd think you would see 1 & 2 AA (and AAA) LED lights with high power LED's for like $20 from them.

Just thinking out loud I guess.

thinking.gif

beezaur

Flashlight Enthusiast
Actually, I think Mag is still a great brand. They are "yesterday's technology" sure enough, but you still get a super good product for $20. Lasts all night on a fresh set of batteries, you can tell when it is going dead (there's something to be said for that), you always have a spare bulb with you, you can beat it to H-E-double-toothpicks, and it still has among the best throw. I wouldn't want any other $20 light but a Mag.

About the LEDs, my guess is that they are waiting until the technology settles down. For one thing, a hallmark of Mag is the focusable beam. You can't really do that with LED light sources yet.

Scott

Analog Kid

Newly Enlightened