Engineering Student Needs Help!

Gary Michael Smith

Newly Enlightened
Hello Candle Power Forums,

I am a mechanical engineering student from the UK who is currently trying to design and develop a flashlight prototype for my IVA (Internal Verification Assessment). As part of my IVA, I must gather information about flashlights so that I can possess a broader knowledge of how to approach my design.

As well as this, I must incorporate some form of additional design material into the prototype so that it stands out from a typical flashlight. I was thinking of some form of tool or a compartment for storing matches or small candles, in case of emergency situations. However my own span of knowledge of professionally using flashlights is limited.

Can anyone on this forum give me any advice in making a flashlight prototype? I would appreciate it if there was only professional or experienced feedback to this thread, this thread will be pasted into my project diary.

Grox

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Gary,

How's it going? Glad to see you at CPF! Why don't you stay awhile?

A good start would be to read some of the reviews and articles on flashlightreviews.com. They are well written and informative.

That would give you a feeling for a) the current flashlight market b) the current products c) their strengths and weaknesses d) opportunities for improvements.

I think it crucial to have a solid grasp upon the utility and intended purposes of a flashlight before you plunge into designing one. What if your light is intended for cave use? You might design it as a headlamp; if it is to be used in a car, or as a "bump in the night" light, you might choose diferent form factors altogether. How about if your light is going to be weapon mounted?

Infact you might want to even buy yourself a good light (eg. Surefire g2) to see what all the fuss is about.