Limitless, cheap power from water (maybe?)

PhotonBoy

Flashlight Enthusiast
Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada http://tinyu
http://www.guardian.co.uk/renewable/Story/0,2763,1627425,00.html

[font=Geneva,Arial,sans-serif]Guardian Unlimited: "It seems too good to be true: a new source of near-limitless power that costs virtually nothing, uses tiny amounts of water as its fuel and produces next to no waste. If that does not sound radical enough, how about this: the principle behind the source turns modern physics on its head...."

Reader comments from http://digg.com:

http://digg.com/technology/Fuel_s_paradise_Power_source_that_turns_physics_on_its_head_
[/font]

Last edited:

drizzle

Enlightened
Interesting article!

I will take a wait and see attitude on this one. My degree is in Physics and I'm frankly sceptical. The article is short on any hard science, so I'll wait to see how it looks when more is known.

But it sounds exciting and I don't think it's nothing, I just don't think it's really going to turn theoretical physics upside down. I think it falls somewhere in the middle.

It sure makes for some fun anticipation. Kinda reminds me of all the hype surrounding the unveiling of the Segway. If I were to speculate I would say it will probably change our lives about as much as the Segway has.

jtr1962

Flashaholic
I'm of course skeptical but it would be nice if true. Imagine buying a car that never needs to be refueled, or producing power for your home via a generator that also never needs to be refueled. Nothing I'd like more than to see big oil and the electric companies put out of business for good. Decentralized power generation means you can get rid of the ugly mess of electrical wiring everywhere as well.

In order to sustain future economic growth we really need a source of energy which is both abundant and virtually free. If this pans out we might have it.

idleprocess

Flashaholic
What's that hilarious rephrasing of the 3 laws of thermodynamics?