Anyone Using Flashlights for Mountain Biking Light?

Ned-L

Enlightened
Updated: I was hoping that an updated title might get someone who uses flashlights as mountain biking lights to provide some advice. I am still looking for advice whether using a couple of affordable Luxeon 5W flashlights with rechargeable batteries is a viable option for mountian biking lights. Thanks.

Hi,

I am new to CPF and have been enjoying reading a tremendous amount of detailed information about a huge quantity and variety of lights. I am in the market for a new mountain bike light. I noticed that Luxeon 5W technology is beginning to be used (for example DiNotte Ultralight Light Set), but there are not many choices. I was wondering if there were any Luxeon 5w LED flashlights that with a bike mount might double as a mountain bike light. I need something that is roughly the equivalent of a 15w halogen light with a runtime of about 2 hours. Because of fairly frequent use, I would also need to use rechargeable batteries. When the price gets around $250 there are lots of excellent bike specific halogen light systems, so I probably wouldn't want to spend much more than $250. Anyone's suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I was looking at the DiNotte bike light which uses a Luxeon 5W LED and claims to produce 120 lumens and run for 1 hr and 40 minutes on 4 AA NiMH 2300 MAH batteries. Does anyone know what wattage this would be the equivalent of in a halogen light or whether it is enough light for mountain biking at night?

Thanks

Last edited:

CLHC

Flashaholic
Re: Help re Flashlight Doubling as Mtn Bike Light

Welcome to CPF NED-L!

Can't really answer your question right now, but there are those here that can answer that since they themselves share the same sport of mountain biking.

Hope you find what you're looking for and Enjoy!

Here's a quick question(s) though—Have you looked into the Light & Motion and or NiteRider products? In particular the HID w/LED models? Just curious. . .