What's a good mod(s) under $20 for a Maglite?

jcravenbpd

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I am a newbie and just recently aquired a 3-cell "D" Maglite with a 3-watt Diamond Luxeon drop-in. My question is; is there any mods that will get this Luxeon running at full brightness for under $20?

Thanks,
Jordan

Xrunner

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello, welcome to CPF! :wave:

I'm not sure about modding the 3-watt drop in, but are you looking specifically for a brighter light? 3-watt luxeons tend to be good for throw (in general) but 5-watters tend to be more of a flood.

-Mike

EDIT: you might also want to take a look at the thread here (not precisely what you are looking for but interesting none the less).

Last edited:

ROVER

Newly Enlightened
I've been leery of trying those drop ins due to my worries about heat sinking. If you're willing to change your plan a little and solder four points, the sandwich shop sells a TV1J already thermally bonded to an Osink. That's a bright luxIII with a low Vf you could put in and get very nice brightness---its $21. I've done three 3D mags with TV1K's and have been very impressed--I'll never leave another family member's mag stock again.

Blueblur

Newly Enlightened
I have a 3D mag with the maxstar2 bulb drop-in..
basically 2x1 watt side firing luxeon LEDs.
Is the Diamond 3watt that much brighter than this drop-in?

And why would you use a 3AA to D conversion? Other than the increased voltage, the current is greater over a longer period of time in a single D.. isn't it?

:huh:

NetMage

Enlightened
The increase in voltage lets you run a higher power bulb overdriven - do a search for Mag85 - it will blow most LED solutions out of the water in a 3D Mag.

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast