Newbie Here! Crash Course Needed!!

pfmedic

Newly Enlightened
I have been bitten by the CPF bug.:ohgeez:

However, I feel I need a crash course in lights. What technical jargon should I know? What lights and light related products do I ablsolutely need to have? I crave the knowledge so LAY IT ON ME!!:grin2:

-Paul

greenLED

Flashaholic
Have you visited theledmuseum.org, and/or flashlightreviews.com? There's a page with acronyms on The LED Museum, and reading all the reviews at both sites should bring you up to speed. Also, try the CPF Wiki link near the top of the CPF window.

pfmedic

Newly Enlightened
Im at flashlight reviews all the time. I understand words like lumen, lux, throW, overall output and a few other basics, but when I read some of the posts of you godfathers, I have know idea what the hell you are talking about. I'll check the other links you mentioned though. Acronyms will certainly help alot. Thanks. :)

Last edited:

pfmedic

Newly Enlightened
MAN THAT WAS HELPFUL!!! ledmuseum makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. What a wonderful place.

Last edited:

zespectre

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's a way to narrow down what someone ACTUALLY wants when they start asking you "what's the best light for ____fill in the blank_____.

Sort of a work in progress but I've found it handy a few times already.

If you know what light(s) to recommend for all of the categories you are probably a complete flashaholic :whistle:

Oh, and welcome to the CPF, and in case someone else hasn't said it already... "Hang on to your wallet!"

pfmedic

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the welcome. CPF seems to be full of helpful people.:)

Im doing my best to hang onto my wallet since I joined. My only purchace thus far was a fenix premium. A good buy from what I could gather.

But since you are a flashlaholic Im going to answer all these q's and see what you have to say for my next light.

zespectre

Flashlight Enthusiast