AA & AAA Battery Flashlight Questions

Spin

Enlightened
I'm a newbie who is just getting into led flashlights. I am looking for suggestions on which flashlight(s) would fit my criteria. I require single led, water resistant & reasonably durable for outside use.

1. Single AA or AAA flashlight for a keyring?
2. Two AA flashlight with a minimum of 10 hour battery life?

Also should i consider the Walmart & Kmart brands?
Any recommendations concerning the above would be most appreciated. Thank you.

* Output of led has to be "white light".

Last edited:

eebowler

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello Spin. Welcome to our madness!:party: Have fun, :crackup: make friends :buddies: and keep an eye on your wallet :broke:.

With respect to option one, you need to be a bit more specific as your intended use. There are some acceptbly bright single 5mm LED lights which cost from $5-$20 and some single Luxeon LED lights (much brighter) which can range in price from $40- $100.

With respect to your second option, check out the Opalec NewBeam and the Nite Ize maglite drop in. Both reviewed by our very own Quickbeam.

The Nite Ize drop in is very inexpensive at $5-$7 and has a long runtime as can be seen on the charts.

The New Beam is a bit more expensive at $17-$19 however, the difference in quality is rather obvious. Also, the Opalec has a little red LED which lights up when the module falls out of regulation (9-11 hrs).

Both of them are replacement bulbs for the AA minimag flashlight.

Last edited:

paulr

Flashaholic
The favorite 1AAA keychain light around here is the Arc AAA (www.arcflashlight.com) premium version which is backordered by several weeks. Alternatively you can get Peak Matterhorn (www.peakledsolutions.com). I recommend the lug tail version in HA aluminum and the ultra power led, but lots of configurations are available. The brass and stainless versions look great but weigh a ton.

1AA is too big for a keychain light.