mag 3d luxeon mod ?'s

bbaker22

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm new to modding and have an old Mag 3d I plan to use for experimentation. This is a bit rambling, but I'd appreciate any input. I'm trying to keep things really simple for my first mod, just doing a direct drive and a ucl lens.

Initial plan:
mag 3d body modified per Light Refineries directions
hotlips+tv1j combo
ucl lens

After looking at Modamag's direct drive post, it looks like I'd be seriously overdriving w/ alkalines and slightly overdriving w/ nimh's. Can I get away w/ direct drive using either alkalines or nimh's? Slightly shortened led life is fine, but 1/10 life would probably be unacceptable.

If I can't go with direct drive, what are my options? Doesn't a resistor essentially tie me to one ideal input voltage (either nimh or alkaline, but not both)? Would using something like the wiz2 allow me to vary battery types and still produce a consistent output?

Thanks,
baker

modamag

Flashlight Enthusiast
Baker, Welcome aboard!
"Why don't you stay a while"

You basically answered all your questions already :D

With 3x D Alkaline | NiMh you're gonna overdrive it for the first ~45 min or so.
Resistor will not allow you to tune in for both Alkaline and NiMH.
If you want regulation, you can use dat2zip's Wiz2 or georges80's bbFlex.

Last edited:

wwglen

Enlightened
Use a resistor for the NiMH batteries.

The increased current of the Alklines (until the battery voltage sag) will cause an increased voltage drop thus limiting the current to SOME extent.

Also the higher internal resistance of the alklines will help some.

wwglen.

bbaker22

Newly Enlightened
For me, the complexity/cost of a converter isn't appealing for a first mod...

So, could I size the resistor for 1A using nimh's and get away w/ a slight overdrive when using alkalines?

Given estimated values of:
vf_lux = 3.4
I = 1A
R_lux = 2.92
it looks like I'd need ~ .48 Ohm resistor. Does this look right? What wattage? .5W?

Thanks,
baker