New here, and need a tips on which torch to buy!

bebe

Newly Enlightened
Hello everybody - I'm new here

And I guess what I ask about has been discussed before, but as a newbie I feel I can ask this :) - once

I have a SureFire 6P (an older model with the same rubber-ring as the M3) the problem is that I think its eating too much battery, so I need something that can be recharged - home and in my car (where it will be having it's primary address)

I was thinking of LED, but after the years I have got some sort of reputation "Flashlight? - that's him" so I can't have a lamp that does'nt really beam. If there was a combo - it would be great - but as you folks know - nothing really good comes in combo - so the LED has to come as an seperate lamp :)

so - the question:

Which one? and I dont know which one can be recharged.

SureFire 8NX435 Comander
(nice spec - but looks dull (a bit plain))

or

SureFire 9AN Commander
(perfect spek - but I donno if it looks dull (a bit plain))

or

SureFire M2/M3 Combatlight
(looks really neat - but the M2 looks to me like the same spek as the one I have)

please help me - I can't decide

Last edited:

dougmccoy

Enlightened
Hi and welcome to the forum!

If you have set your heart on a Surefire rechargeable then either of the two you mention would be great! Don't know what you mean by ''dull'' but aesthetically they are IMHO no better or worse than any other light?

OBTW you are right about the M2 having the same spec as your 6P. The functional difference is in its rugged build and its ability to be fired from a weapon without destroying the bulb. The M3 is just superlative but a a cost of 3 C123's per hour of use instead of 2 with the 6P or M2.

If your use is heavy I'd go for a rechargeable every time and keep the 6P as a backup!

Doug

diggdug13

Flashlight Enthusiast
if you are looking at a dual, bulb / led look at the Surefire A2.

you won't lose the finger points and whipering of "there goes that flashlight guy" lol