Need help picking out a light

chiabob

Newly Enlightened
OK, so I'm pretty new to this and I need some help finding the right light.
I'm looking to buy a LED flashlight as a christmas present. My price range is approximately $50. Here's a list of what I think are the most important features I'm looking for:
1. BRIGHT!
2. Standard batteries (AA, AAA, etc)
3. Battery life (hopefully regulated)
4. Size

The single most important thing is the "wow" factor of how bright it is.
A couple of flashlights I've considered after looking through entirely too many threads are:
Gerber LX 3.0
Elektrolumens XM3
Fenix L1P
Fenix L2P.

I'd be willing to spend a little more or adjust my requirement (like using CR123) if I can get a significantly brighter light

Edit:
And one more question: I want a light for myself as well. Mine doesn't need to be LED and can be lithium as my work supplies all the batteries. I was thinking of the SF G2 Nitrolon or another L1P. What do you guys think? I'll be using it at work where I am a Field Service Engineer. Basically, I'm a mechanic that works on machines for the Semiconductor industry. I do a lot of inspections inside of the machine and so I don't think that a long throw is very important as I won't be trying to light up things that are more than 6 feet away. Size is important as I don't want to lug around something too large.

Thanks for the help!

-Matt

Last edited:

Kiessling

Flashaholic
I'd say Fenix L1P. One of the CPF most popular ligths these days.

BUT ... if you want to go into CR123 territory there is a significant increase in brightness possible, but unfortunately for the really good lights also a significant increase in price.

bernie

greenLED

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF!
For a wow! factor, I'd go with the L1P: small and bright, regular batts. You'll end up going the 123 route sooner or later, so no need to hurry up. :D

chiabob

Newly Enlightened