I have a confession to make......

JimmyB

Enlightened
...................I'm 43 and I still play with flashlights. Yeah, I need one for work. I've been a cop for 18 years and have a Surefire L5 for serious use. I'm in the motor unit and ride year round so I need something durable and waterproof. But in my off time I carry flashlights for fun. I don't care about tactical this or tactical that. I like lights that are cool and fun. The cooler and "funner" the better. The one I'm enjoying the most right now is my Lioncub that I bought from Mut. I'm also having fun with my Raw.

I went out walking in Discovery Park tonight with my dog. Discovery Park is in Seattle and is about 40 acres right on Puget Sound. It gets pretty dark there at night so it's a great place to goof around with lights. I like taking the dog out at night and he loves the park so it's a good deal for both of us. Whenever I go I carry a light or *two* (cough, cough). Tonight I had a U2 that I recently bought. I was pretty impressed with it overall. I think the low setting could be a little lower but it's great to have a variable light.

I also had my 6P that I bought in the early 90's. I put a new generation KL3 on it and the throw is amazing. Great runtime too. My L4 got some use too but it's a bit too bright for dark trails (that sounds weird). Can a flashlight really be too bright? I brought a Mag 951 that really lit up the area. It was nice to have because it has good throw and spill. It's like a little slice of daylight. I was blown away with how much my little Orb Raw lit up the area too. If you want a "wow" light, this is it.

A couple more random thoughts….Dogs don't need no stinkin flashlights. They have great night vision. I tried really hard not to shine the light on him. Also, dogs don't seem to care too much what the beam looks like. Flood? Spot? Just get out of the way so I can pee on that bush.
dog.gif