Help Building Crude Emergency Light

sparkplug

Newly Enlightened
New to the forums and would like to build a BRIGHT emergency 12v led light/lantern with 6 to 8 hrs. runtime. I have a 12v 7.2 ah CSB (GP 1272) sealed lead battery. Any suggestions on reflectors, leds, wattage, resistors or any construction materaials will be appreciated. It does not have to be high tech., I am just beginning to hobby in this area and need a good emergency light no matter how crude but using low cost home made or retail hardware.
Any web links, pictures, or instructions would be of great help. Have a great day!! :huh2:

Ken_McE

Flashlight Enthusiast
A good place to start would be to go out and scrounge or build a housing. You need something that will hold the battery and have a handle if you want to walk around with it. For high power LEDs you will need heat sink(s) so the case should be able to hold (or be a) heatsink(s)

A nice thing about LEDs is that you can build them into anything, it doesn't have to look like a flashlight. It can look like a squid, a UFO, a tool box, a statue of Venus, whatever blows your hair back.

I think of reflectors and lenses as being good to narrow your beam and give it more throw. If you just want broad area lighting, a hemisphere* of light rather than a beam, you can consider skipping them.

I would suggest a couple of switches and a couple of circuits in parallel:

You turn on the lowest setting and it gives you a few little 5 mm LEDs, just enough so you can find the light easy and use it for a nightlight while you are sleeping in a pitch dark place. On that setting the seven amp hour battery might last for a week or two.

The next switch would turn on the medium lights. Lets say about nine one-watt luxeons with no reflectors or lenses, just a diffuser. This would light a room enough to walk around, see colors, you could probably read comfortably next to it.