Usage Frequency of your EDCs & Battery preservation

my name is fake

Enlightened
Emm...this is gonna sound like a silly question...but hey...im a newbie..its allowed...:naughty:

anyway, how often do you need to use your EDC flashlights? Unless your hobby is hunting or involve stalking enemies at night, on average, in a week how many times approximately you had to use your lights?

which leads me to this question: battery preservation

As Ive always been told, never keep your batteries too long in the lights. So does this mean you need to take out your batteries say, once a week?

again, sorry if this sounds silly..

TorchMan

Enlightened
What was that Mr Garrison says on South Park? "Remember boys and girls, there are no stupid questions..."

No, seriously, I don't find your questions stupid at all. But then again some would say I am stupid. :grin2:

I use my SureFire U2 four or five times a week, at least. Sometimes more, almost never less. Not for long periods at a time, and not on high.

My pocket light, which was recently an HDS U60, now a LionCub, is used some every day, mostly at night. Again, not for long periods, and usually on lower settings. It's a rechargeable, and being new and having a turbo head for it, I used the battery enough to put in another fresh charged already. A lot of that was showing to friends, and shining the light around on high with the turbo head.

As to leaving batteries in long, I can only summize that it's to prevent leakage of the cells from ruining a light. I killed a 6 D cell mag like that once, and others I know have had the same thing happen with theirs. Of course dead cells that haven't leaked still won't power a light, so it's good to know the will work when needed.

I guess it wouldn't hurt to take the cells out once and week and look at them, but mine don't need replacing that frequently. In fact I've not gone through very many yet. A light in a vehicle would need more checking, just to be on the safe side.