HELP I need some advice!

austind_05

Newly Enlightened
Hey everyone,

Here's my problem: I'm a ranchhand, and on the ranch I work at, we have a mountain lion problem. It looks like only one or two, but they keep climbing the fence and getting into the pastures. I'd shoot'em, but they're endangered species in my area or some poop like that, so I can't. Anyways, the reason I'm here telling you all this is that I thought maybe I could use some sort of flashlight to scare them off. It would have to be something I could hold in one hand (I don't care how endangered they are, if I'm gonna be out there with them, I'm bringin a gun, period.) But I don't have any pity for these things. If theres something out there that can turn their retinas to jelly and fry their faces, I'm in. So, I guess my question is, "What's the brightest flashlight I can hold in one hand?"

Also, I'm completely new to this, as you've probably already guessed. So, please make sure what you're saying is in terms a layman like me can understand.

CroMAGnet

Flashlight Enthusiast
I doubt the light will scare them off but you would want to be VERY far away or in the house/barn aiming from the loft/window just to try it out and see if it works. You're one lucky person to even get to see these elusive animals.

Anyway, I'd say get a cheap Thor from Costco. $25 and it will be the brightest longest throwing light you can buy for the money [period]

zespectre

Flashlight Enthusiast
Stay armed, get a couple of dogs trained to work together and for God's sake don't go out alone at dusk (when they are most active).

onlinewarlord

Newly Enlightened
Blanks fired from a 12 gauge shotgun would probably get their attention.
*mount a light on the gun for CPF sake :)

Last edited:

flashfan

Flashlight Enthusiast