Opinions on Black Diamond Soliras

SDcaver

Newly Enlightened
I am looking for opinions on the Black Diamond Soliras light as I have little knowledge of their positives and negatives. Such as, but not limited to, the following:

How does the xenon bulb compare to a 1 or 3 watt LED?

How effective are the 2 LED's for area lighting? Is it like a Tikka Plus on
low,or better?

Are the 2 LED's even effective on the low setting?

Is the Lithium - Ion battery worth the extra cost?

The use of the light would be for a primary caving light for up to 10 hour trips. The caves are primarily dry, with occasional mud. Additionally, it would be used for hiking between vehicle and cave entrances at night with hikes up to 1 hour. Basically, is this light worth the money or would another light be better, keeping cost in mind. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

greenLED

Flashaholic
Don't have any first-hand experience with the Soliras. However, look for jtice's thread on the StenLight (or is it StenLite?).

Welcome to CPF!

mrme

Enlightened
I am leery of a 1 amp bulb with the small reflector.

I have several headlamps of the same basic design and have yet to find any utility in even the 0.7 amp bulb. The glare is just too much for any real route finding. The 0.5 amp bulb works just as well, oddly enough. For caving, you don't want more than that anyways.

As far as your other questions go, I don't really know. I take the 5mm LEDs out of my BD lights and put in a Luxeon. The LEDs that BD puts in their lights are too tightly focused for my liking.