NFlex questions

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
So... I just bought a Mag with an NFlex. So as this depletes the batteries, will it start to 'flashy thing' ala a Wiz2 when the cells are nearly empty?

Is this what all constant current regulators do?

Sorry for the newbie-ish questions... I'm just new to the whole custom regulator side of things.
au.gif

shiftd

Flashlight Enthusiast
My Nflex just step down to the dimmer level that the batteries can still sustain as the batteries get weaker. Now it just lights up in the lowest level without flickers of any sort. I dont want to let it run overnight since i am afraid the battery might leak.

georges80

Flashlight Enthusiast
cratz2 said:
So... I just bought a Mag with an NFlex. So as this depletes the batteries, will it start to 'flashy thing' ala a Wiz2 when the cells are nearly empty?

Is this what all constant current regulators do?

Sorry for the newbie-ish questions... I'm just new to the whole custom regulator side of things.
au.gif

The "flashing" is mainly a boost regulator effect. What happens in a boost regulator is that the current drawn from the battery increases as the battery voltage decreases. This is because the boost current regulator tries to keep constant current at the output (and sort of constant power - depending on LED Vf variations with heat etc). What then happens is that the battery voltage drops pretty quickly when it's nearly flat and the current increases more, this effect 'feeds' on itself and the battery voltage drops to the point the regulator cuts out (goes below the operation input voltage of the regulator) and the LED goes off. The input current then drops and the battery now starts to recover and the voltage increases to the point the regulator starts up again and the LED lights. The cycle then repeats and there you go "flash" "flash" "flash"....