200mw green laser question

tcr03

Newly Enlightened
So the other day i was given a "200mw" green laser. Ive always wanted on for pointing out stars at night with my kids, but now that i have one im concerned about the laws and what kind of trouble i could get into pointing it at the sky.

I live in ofallon missouri

blah9

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm a little worried about that too. The few times I've done it I just made sure to not point it anywhere near airplanes. I mean, if you are super careful and make sure to not go anywhere near them, I imagine that would be okay, but I'm not a law expert. I even got paranoid enough that I won't point it in the sky if I can see any airplanes pretty much anywhere near my field of view.

FRITZHID

Flashlight Enthusiast
The law varies quite a bit on this.
Legally, 5mw is the maximum power allowed in most, if not all areas.
Green is still fairly visible at this power, espc in dark locations.

Shining in the sky laws are far more variable depending on location and local ordinances.
Of course shining at ANY aircraft/vehicles/persons, etc is a given no no.
I have a laser alignment and aiming system for my camera and telescope and I've had a few knocks at the door and officers popping in my back yard, lights shining, questions asked..... after explaining my intentions, credentials, equipment AND explaining that I'm not actually breaking any laws, they caution me and then go on their way. It's quite aggravating.
I've queried about permits for astrology usage but there's no actual option for this, lol.

Sparkles

Newly Enlightened
The law varies quite a bit on this.
Legally, 5mw is the maximum power allowed in most, if not all areas.
Green is still fairly visible at this power, espc in dark locations.

Shining in the sky laws are far more variable depending on location and local ordinances.
Of course shining at ANY aircraft/vehicles/persons, etc is a given no no.