Aircraft mechanic needs a new light!

Bedwards

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys! First time posting on the forum, but I've been lurking around on here for a while. I am an aircraft mechanic, and unfortunately yesterday, my 4 year old Fenix E25 flashlight started to flicker and ended up dying on me. So it's time for something new! I've been out of the loop on advancements in the flashlight world for quite some time, and I am a bit overwhelmed when I start comparing models and digging deeper into something that will suit my needs. I need a light that won't be excessively bright, and allows me to work in tight, confined spaces (my Fenix on high was too bright for up-close applications). However, having the option of higher brightness settings would be nice for when I'm doing exterior inspections from a distance. I don't want to go any bigger than the size of my Fenix. I have filled out the checklist below to the best of my ability, and would greatly appreciate any advice on helping me pick a new light!

Thank you in advance!

==================Flashlight Recommendation Checklist================

1) How would you prefer to purchase the light?

____I would like to purchase the light in person from a brick and mortar store. I am located in ______________.
__X__This will be mail-order or Online (location doesn't matter).

2) Budget: An easy question, but you may change your mind after answering the rest! :)

____I don't know yet
____Up to $25.
____Up to $50.
__X__Up to $100.
____Up to $200.
____Up to $300.
____Essentially unlimited.

3) Format:

____I am not sure, please help me decide.
__X__I want a flashlight (hand held/self contained).
____I want a self-contained headlamp.
____I want a headlamp with an external pack/power source.
____I want a mounted light (typically for a bicycle or vehicle)
____I want a lantern/area light.
____I want a portable spotlight (it may have an external power source).
____Other ____________________________________________

4) Size: