Best caribeener/snap lock/quick release device?

Variant

Newly Enlightened
I'm a war photographer working in hazardous locations around the world, and I need a small, compact, lightweight, reliable, quick-opening locking device to attach my pro cameras to my camera vest or a neck strap. I've been using plastic quick releases but they're not strong or reliable enough. Then I tried using McGizmo SS jewel clips, but I found that those accidentally opened if twisted the wrong way. I need a really low profile, strong device, as I often hang my heavy cameras by only strap or attachment point. Any suggestions?

matrixshaman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Wrong forum for this quesiton but I'll take a shot at helping you but expect this to be moved elsewhere. Take a look at the Nite-Ize S-Biner - larger ones hold about 75 pounds. However I think what you may want is a real carabiner - just smaller than most. There are actually some very inexpensive aluminum carabiners I've seen in Dollar stores that I've used for years to carry keys and they are plenty strong enought to hold a camera. I'm guessing they would hold at least 50 pounds easy. I've also got some tiny clip carabiners that I think are rated at around 100 pounds. They look just like a full size wire clip carabiner except smaller. I'd also look at real mountain climbing carabiners - not the full size ones for your weight but the ones for carrying some of their equipment as they have much smaller but still strong enough for equipment.

Kato

Enlightened
I don't do a lot of climbing anymore, but I still use carabiners to hang gear off my load bearing equipment and backpack.