Considering a replacement dutylight

M@elstrom

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been using my Klarus XT11 since 2011 without fault, 800-900Lm is still decent light output but it's time to step up the illumination factor, the only problem is charging ports... I don't want them, so many lights seem to have them as standard.

The Jetbeam TH16 released in 2023 seems to be on point as I can live with a removable C-port battery, are there any other lights (without charging ports OR magnetic charging docks) I may have overlooked? 🤔

M@elstrom

Flashlight Enthusiast
An external charging port is a deal breaker, so many otherwise suitable lights (including Fenix) appear to have adopted it as almost standard... the dual fuel Fury has potential 👍

Last edited:

Raymond33

Newly Enlightened
My 2 cents worth: I am over 70 years old, and have a flashlight aficionado for about 50 years. For about 20 years, I was active in helping lots of LEOs obtain, upgrade or maintain their lights. It has been very funny over the years to hear stories of my officers being asked to go over to another cop's call because of their flashlight.

this thread describes one such light from many years ago: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/the-story-of-a-hero-cop-and-his-flashlight.482601/

Over the decades I have owned or maintained many hundreds (maybe thousands) of lights of many many types and makers. Some ideas to keep in mind while selecting.

1. Pick a light that takes 18650 batteries. For lots of reasons.
2. KISS. The fewer levels the better.