Convoy S2+ punching in the positive terminals of battery - should I worry?

akatsuki

Newly Enlightened
You can see in the attached pic, the Murata cell I have now has an innie instead of an outie? This has happened in a couple of the Convoys I bought...

Is it this particular battery and how it is built? Or something else. Should I worry or just stick some foil in there to take up the gap that has been created?

Attachments

• IMG_2757.JPEG
    IMG_2757.JPEG
    729.2 KB · Views: 100

aznsx

Flashlight Enthusiast
You can see in the attached pic, the Murata cell I have now has an innie instead of an outie? This has happened in a couple of the Convoys I bought...

Is it this particular battery and how it is built? Or something else. Should I worry or just stick some foil in there to take up the gap that has been created?
I'm far from a cell expert, but just lookin' at that photo makes me cringe instinctively. I would probably retire it on general principle.

I take it that was born a 'button-top' (which is what I use exclusively)? (EDIT: ...aside from one Fenix light I have which was designed specifically for 'flat-top' cells, but it's a fairly old light. I believe they've since standardized on designing for button-top.)

Makes me wonder what length (EDIT: range) your light is designed / optimized for, but from looking at this, I think I'll steer clear on principle. I'm referring to the light manufacturer, not necessarily the cell. I know little specifically about MuRata, but from my exposure to their name and some of their stuff over some years in the electronics industry, I'd always assumed them to probably be a serious operator.

One thing I will add is that I think the addition of something like foil to compensate for the damage also makes me cringe.

Some others who hang out here probably know way more than I do about cells, so I'm curious what they have to say.

Edit: added strikethrough

Last edited:

akatsuki

Newly Enlightened