Flashlight for reading house numbers

NightwatchNL

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

I desperately seek your advice.

I am a driver which delivers parcels for the Dutch Mail. Now that's early dark and people tend to have the most rediculous ideas about their house numbers it sometimes is impossible to find the right house address with right parcels. Or sometimes the standard numbers are eroded to an almost plain white square, or the distance to the street is to big to read the number in the dark in the absence of decent street lighting, like 25 ft. / 50 mtrs. So I thought it would be nice to have a flashlight to incidently illuminate the numbers i'm passing by to see if I already arrived at the correct number.

Since I'm a complete novice when it comes to flashlights, I'd like to have your advice which one to buy.
:shrug:

A) it has to be cheap (logically; I have to pay for it myself)
B) it has to have a bright, compact beam so it will light up house numbers, even when they further away from the road.
C) it has to be powered by AAA or AA batteries, since I already have a charger for those (from my digital camera)
D) no need for extravagancies like SOS or strobe or different lightstrength settings and so on.

Any thoughts will be duly appreciated :twothumbs

I found a youtube movie, the light bundle on the right at 0:50?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9NoPa0oJQs

Last edited:

RetroTechie

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF, fellow countryman! :wave:

or the distance to the street is to big to read the number in the dark in the absence of decent street lighting, like 25 ft. / 50 mtrs.
There's a relation between the intensity of the beam in the hotspot's center, and how far that beam will reach. For 50 mtrs. "throw", you'd need a beam intensity of ~600 candela (cd). Which many current LED lights will easily achieve.

To not alert the neightbors, you'd want little or minimal "spill" (= light outside that center beam), so you're looking for a "throwy" AAA or AA based light.