G4 5761/7388 in Maglite 3C. Few questions.

Olumin

Flashlight Enthusiast
Its apparently a well known mod for the standard Maglite (not ML25), and peeps have successfully run these on 2x IMR Li-ion. Would like to run 5761 or 7388 in 3C Mag with 2x 21700. I am new to this Mag modding scene so here a few questions:

1: How to fit G4 into modern Xenon Bi-Pin Maglite? Tods Adapter is for PR I believe and no longer for sale. [Solved]

2:How to fit PR bulb into modern Pi-Pin? I could use Peli 3754 on Vicvs recommendation but its PR style bulb. [Solved]

3: Will current high drain protected Keeppower 21700 15A be sufficient to run 20W (7388) or 30W (5761) Halogen? or do I absolutely need 20A IMR cell?

thanks

Last edited:

vicv

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is the answer to both no1 and no2. Even new full size mags just have this adapter in the pr socket. Remove it and you can install a pr bulb. The lights haven't changed.
PXL_20210912_185537870.jpg

PXL_20210912_185548003.jpg

This will allow you to add a G4 bulb after removing factory adapter.

A 7388 will be fine on big cells as will the rop high bulbs. A 5761 will probably flash depending on the cells and res mods you've done. Even still it will be short lived.
I would stay away from protected cells for this much power.

Olumin

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is the answer to both no1 and no2. Even new full size mags just have this adapter in the pr socket. Remove it and you can install a pr bulb. The lights haven't changed.View attachment 16891

View attachment 16892

This will allow you to add a G4 bulb after removing factory adapter.

A 7388 will be fine on big cells as will the rop high bulbs. A 5761 will probably flash depending on the cells and res mods you've done. Even still it will be short lived.
I would stay away from protected cells for this much power.