Help with wiring LED strip

romeroom

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

This is my first post. I am a newbie when it comes to wiring LEDs, so I would appreciate some patience, kindness, understanding, and goodwill.

I am going to be attempting for the first time to convert our 4 foot fluorescent basement/shop lights to LEDs for as least expensive as possible. The basement area needed for illumination is dark and used for laundry. I know there are a number of videos out there with a lot of fancy ways of doing it, all moderately costly. I may go in that direction in the distant future, but for now, I am at the experimental stage.

So, here goes:

1. I ordered 10 meters worth of these: (SMD 5630)

2. I'm going to gut a couple of fluorescent fixtures like these and tape the LED's to the base.
  3. I am going to cut to size light diffuser like this I harvested from a dead 46" LED TV. (Actually, the dead TV has a fully working power supply and very bright and functional LEDs. I have plans for this as well.)
  4. I have plenty of 12v 5A power supply source for a bunch of these

If I understand it correctly, I read in this article that the farther away from the farther an LED is located from the power source, the dimmer it will become. I would like these lights to be as bright a possible.

Do, given the unlimited amount of power 12v/5A power I have available, how would you recommend I cut/wire these strips?

PS: I totally understand the lights I ordered are very inexpensive, come from China, probably will not give off as much light as I'm hoping for. I get it. But, I'm just experimenting. The total cost of 10 meters worth of LEDs is approximately $7.30, so to me worth the distraction and cost.

PSS: I would like to light a two stall garage with LEDs as well, and yes, as cheap as possible. If you have suggestions on the type of LED light that will work best and other suggestions, I'm all ears.

Thank you.

Omar

Lithopsian

Newly Enlightened