Looking after eneloops guide?

FlyingDragonz

Newly Enlightened
As the title, I'm trying to find a basic guide on looking after eneloops and similar chemistry base batteries.
I've looked around but nothing definitive I have found for my scenario, unless you can direct me.

I have varying gens of sanyo eneloops and some Ikea sets (I believe sanyo/panasonic pro versions?).
I'm a photographer and use them in my speed/flash lights, which is high drain.
I charge tens of packs in 4 lots, all labeled so each set charges the same amount of cycles.

My question is about charging and testing. Week to week, somestimes I don't use all the packs for an event, but will then charge them all up ready for next event.
Am I harming them when they were only charged a few weeks ago but not used and I top them up again? I do this only to get maximum use for high drain, but also may not get used then get charged up weeks later.
Is there any maintenance I should do, like a refresh schedule? (2nd gen eneloops onward)
Can someone also direct me to a way to accurately and quickly test the capacity, ideally a portable solution, if available.

Appreciate any guidence

snakebite

Flashlight Enthusiast

louie

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF, FlyingDragonz!
Personally, I don't do anything on my Eneloops, but I am lazy and don't have many mission-critical uses. I have dozens for many years and have had no failures. I keep a few things in mind:

Use a good charger that does not charge too fast and terminates reliably. A 1 ampere charge current is popular for AA Eneloops.

I don't worry about partial charging at all. If I want to make sure a cell is topped off, I just charge it. I have no facts on whether this has some negative effect, but anecdotally it does not.

I also label batches of cells so I have some idea of my groups of cells and their age. It helps identify a suspect cell. I don't go so far as to serial number each cell.