N00B Going to build a SAD lamp and need advice

yanomeacuerdo

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, I'm totally new here, I have no idea about flashlights but I'm an architect and designer so I know a but about lighting.

After struggling with SAD this winter I decided to make my own SAD lamp...

I searched here but all I could find where old threads so they don't talk about new technologies

I've made my research and I think I have the idea

for the lamp I want to build a +12,000 Lm (aiming at 10,000 lux at 1ft)
I want a small footprint and thinking of using

1 300-SMD 5630 LED 6000k strip http://www.dx.com/p/85w-12000lm-300-smd-5630-led-white-car-decoration-light-strip-12v-5m-308576
2 a opaque diffuser (what do you recommend here I know I need to make up in lm what I will loose with it)

I saw an interesting video on how to make an array of these leds but not sure how efficient is it.

I know about ohm's law but never applied it to lights

any help, pointers or advice welcomed

thanks!

yanomeacuerdo

Newly Enlightened
I think I will need some kind of heat sink for it, will it be enough to glue the strips into an aluminum panel? I want to be able to plug it directly to the 110 outlet

nein166

Flashlight Enthusiast
I can tell you that 6000K DX LEDs tend to look more like 10,000K more Purple-Blue than the slight blue of Daylight white
I bought a strip to make a light box and was dissappointed to find it was far beyond neutral white
I'd mix 2 bright whites with a warm strip unless SAD lights don't need warm light

I have taken apart old LCD computer monitors and found great diffuser panels inside maybe you have one lying around

yanomeacuerdo

Newly Enlightened
I can tell you that 6000K DX LEDs tend to look more like 10,000K more Purple-Blue than the slight blue of Daylight white
I bought a strip to make a light box and was dissappointed to find it was far beyond neutral white
I'd mix 2 bright whites with a warm strip unless SAD lights don't need warm light