Please help me build a frugal caving light - driver choice?

Wilburforce

Newly Enlightened
Hi there,

I'd like to make myself a frugal simple 3D printed caving light.

I'm new to actual flashlight electronics though rather than just buying drop ins and custom torches and Zebralights and Malkoff and OLight etc

Will 3D print the light housing and battery case and spot weld and shrink wrap my own battery pack out of either 18650/26650/18350... In parallel so 3.7 volt options only. Simple optics and a simple clicky switch on the top or side. Wire exiting then around to back of helmet and battery pack etc.

What I'd like is

A frugal driver - basically I want the high to be running at 1000-1400mA so I get nice long run times on high from a 6000mA battery pack etc and it doesn't heat up dangerously in a 3D printed case...

Probably a linear driver as simple to start with and running things in parallel..
Pref heat and polarity protection (although as using JST connectors this is really irrelevant an issue)

While I'd quite like eventually 2 LEDs - one spot, one flood, perhaps running off one switch although could be 2 switches. I will compromise with a single to start with or a board with 3 on.

Would like
Warm/Neutral - 4000k or 5000k
High CRI
No strobes, no hidden modes etc.
3 or 4 modes - ideally something like 1-5%, 33%, 66%, 100%
So it's something like 50mA, 350mA, 650mA, 1000mA (possibly 1400mA total if 2 LEDs and the mid mode would drop too)

I'm thinking XP-L or SST-20 but I'm also not sure about XHP ones and I don't really have any knowledge of many new ones as don't buy a lot of new flashlights anymore. Quite a few new LEDs seem to have emerged in the last few years when I haven't been so active on the forums.

Happy to have 20mm or plus boards.

What I'd mainly like some help with is finding a decent driver that doesn't have strobes/SOS and is frugal - too many I have been trawling through on AliExpress are all about pumping massive amounts of mA…