What Light might tick these boxes of most of them? Help needed. Thanks.

indianageo

Newly Enlightened
Hi Everyone,
The light bug has bit me and I'm looking for an EDC or bug-out type of light that will, hopefully, tick most of the following boxes (see below). I've been doing a lot of research but the more I do, the most lost I get. I seem to keep coming back to the Fenix PD32 2016 update version. I'm a relative noob to this, so any help is appreciated. Perhaps I may need to think of two lights to actually cover my wants, so kindly feel free to recommend two if you wish. Thanks much. Here's my requirements:

1. Price not much of an object but prefer under $100.
2. Up to 1000 Lumins (I don't think I need more than that).
3. Reasonably good throw. I suppose 200 or more meters/yards.
4. Tail stand-able.
5. Red filter option (this seems to be hard to come by or non-existent in the one light I've been considering).
6. Fairly small size. Pocketable.
7. Some low setting that would enable reading at night.
8. Optional battery configs. CR123s and 18650. I think this is fairly common.
9. Durable.
10. Waterproof (ideally would like something that can go deep for underwater adventuring, but this is not a must have, but rather a like-to-have)

Are there other lights I should consider besides the PD32, or in addition to, the PD32? Your expertise is sincerely appreciated. Thanks!

Regards,
IG

peter yetman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Still thinking, but did you realise the Fenix PD32 2016 steps down to 400Lm after only 3 minutes? That's probably going to be normal for all the high output lights in this size. If you want 1000ish lumens for longer, you're going to have to go a bit bigger headwise.

P

Poppy

Flashaholic
I like the cigar shaped lights like the pd32 for every day useage.

For one with a on demand red led you might want to look at the Nitecore CR6

Neither of the above will do 200 meters/yards. You'll need a bigger light than a typical EDC to get that much throw.