Laser ranges makes me go "hmph"

laserbokkie

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys,

i once owned a leadlight 10mW. Pod modded it until it was dead....

Now browsing the net and checking sites like wickedlasers.com &co one thing comes to my mind.
I'm a civil engineer, not much knowledge about circuits or even short circuits but some reasonable professional knowledge about surveying.

The laser retailers advertise their lasers with a range between 12 and 40 miles (19.2 - 64 kM).
Now, since some of you sure know, our once so beautiful planet is round (like a ball). At distances of about 30 kilometres, (in surveying) we have to consider and calculate the earth's curvature.

If you stand with your laser on the beach, and i drive with my boat out about 12 miles, we would still need an extra calm see to get any lights passing.

So, how can one rely on the visibilitis of those lasers? Check them from space?
Visibility of the beam or some light source. I reckon the last.

Just my thoughts.....

ACMarina

Flashlight Enthusiast
How can we say that a beam is visable for 40 miles? I'd have to guess mathmatical calculation. Much like the flashlight calculations for lumens and lux and so forth. It's one big algebra equation, give one number to fill in for a variable and the rest kinda come by default, I guess..

laserbokkie

Newly Enlightened
It would make sense that distance AB between Laser and watcher would be 40 miles. A points the laser with a certain elevation into my dfirection and i see it over my head.

Would work BUT definately not withj a handheld and no way in mW areas.
We are talking watts here.
I once saw a 5 Watt green laser thrown over a lake to mark some longitude in Hamburg.
THAT thing was lighting the whole area up.

EDIT:
It wasn't a 5 w. I just found this oin the site of the company:
Germany 1999